Recipe: Victoria Sponge Cake

I’m going to show you how to make the wonderful, and highly addictive, Victoria Sponge Cake!

Words can’t really describe how much I love this cake.. Well, there probably are words to describe my feelings, but everytime I think about putting my thoughts into coherent order, I get peckish and my mouth waters for another slice!

The recipe is a surprisingly easy one, for some reason I think of all my favourite desserts as masterpieces and highly complicated creations to replicate. As a child I thought it unfathomable to be able to create my own favourite foods and desserts at home, but as an adult the realisation that I can make my own delicious food is a startling and welcome one.

By no means am I an expert at making desserts, I mean, the appearance of everything I make leaves much to be desired, but that’s not to mean it doesn’t taste good! My design and aesthetic skills are just sorely lacking, is all..

Read on and learn how to make a lovely and deliciously succulent Victoria Sponge Cake!

Cake Ingredients:

  • 200g caster sugar
  • 200g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 200g butter at room temp
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tbsp milk

Filling Ingredients:

  • icing sugar to decorate
  • 5 tbsp of Strawberry Jam (you can use 150g if you want more)

Pre-heat the oven to 190C/fan assisted. You’ll need two sandwich cake trays for this recipe, butter some grease paper and line the trays. You should ideally have two 20cm trays, which will give the cake the desired shape – I didn’t have these to hand and made do with smaller tins!

This meant that cake was just slightly less rounded, however.

Mix the 200g of caster sugar and 200g self raising flour together, and add 1tsp of baking powder.

Next, add the 200g butter in and mix until it’s all crumbly. You want to add 2tbsp milk. and then add the eggs in one at a time, whisking continuously until the mixture is smooth.

Halve the mixtures and place into the two sandwich trays, flatten the surface with a butter knife once you’re done.

Don’t worry about getting it super flat and smooth, it’ll rise flat any way!

Place in the oven for 20 – 25 minutes until golden brown and risen. Take out of the oven and place on a cooling rack, and flatten the tops gently. I may or may not have forgotten to do this step.

Get the desired amount of jam and mix it till it’s smooth, I went for a smooth strawberry jam. I ended up not using all of the amount, which turned out to be a good thing! You need a great balance for strawberry jam, as it has natural sugars and too much would be very sickly, on top of the sugar already within the cake.

And voila, it’s done!

You want to sprinkle some icing sugar on top to add a bit of extra flavour and for decoration.

You can have icing sugar and jam as a filling, or cream, however I believe it makes the cake too sickly, and it is a better alternative for those who can’t have aΒ  lot of sugar or aren’t able to have whipped cream.

I hope you enjoy the recipe and happy baking! πŸ™‚

Save

Save

post your nonsense

