Recipe: Chocolate Fudge Brownie

Yep, that’s right. I’m about to divulge all the details on how to make these mouth watering beauties.

Now, mind you, I didn’t make these off the top of my head! I had some help with making these – I followed the “Chewy Fudge Homemade Brownie” recipe over at Sally’s Baking Addiction, but with a bit of a twist.

As I have a few family members with various health concerns, we aren’t necessarily allowed the luxury of treating our sweet tooth, and with good reason, too.

So I tweaked the original recipe a little to suit myself – read on to find out how I made these gorgeous and scrumptious “healthy” chocolate fudge brownies.

What You Need:

  • 100g margarine
  • 150g of milk chocolate
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 25g Demerara brown sugar
  • 2 Large eggs
  • 60g all-purpose flour
  • 2 Tablespoons cocoa powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • 100g chocolate chips

Melt 100g margarine and the 150g milk chocolate in a pan on medium heat, until it’s all melted, make sure to stir it gently all the while. Once that’s done, pour it into a mixing bill and let it chill for a few minutes.

Pour in the 100g Caster Sugar and 25g brown sugar to the mixture, and whisk away. Next, add the two eggs one at a time, and whisk to make sure the mixture remains smooth. You then want to add the 60g of flour, 2tbps of cocoa powder and the pinch of salt, combine the mixture until smooth, then mix in the 100g chocolate chips.

Pour the mixture into a baking tin lined with baking paper, and place in the oven for 30 minutes on 175C/on fan assisted.

Once the brownies look more solid and have pulled away from the sides of the tin, poke it with a baking stick to see if they’ve baked. If only a few crumbs escape, well done – they’re finished!

My brownies aren’t necessarily chocolate fudge brownies, the reduction of chocolate, flour, butter, and eggs made them less sweet and sickly. They were a lot more moist and soft, as opposed to chunky and fudge like – which is better for those who aren’t able to chew properly and struggle to find their favourite chocolate treats, but minus all the extra sugar and chocolate content!

I love chocolate fudge brownies, but I’m not entirely a fan of how sickly sweet they are – you kinda get put off eating them after a bite or two, I know I can’t handle that much sugar! Having said that, I won’t necessarily say no when offered..

With the above recipe, my family loved eating the brownies and they were all finished within minutes! They’re a decidedly healthier alternative to the original take on brownies, and everyone gets to have them!

Save

post your nonsense

