Recipe: Apple Crumble

I have to say, Apple Crumble is one of the easiest desserts I’ve made. My family enjoy it when I make it, but I always struggle in making it look pretty.

Anyway, without further ado, here’s the recipe!

Apple Crumble! My food pictures always look ugly..
Apple Crumble! My food pictures always look ugly..

The Filling:

  • You want 450g worth of apples, or 3 to 4 medium sized apples, peeled and cored. You need to cut these into tiny 1cm pieces.
  • 50g unrefined brown sugar
  • 1 table spoon of plain flour.

The Crumble:

  • 300g plain flour.
  • 175g brown sugar
  • 200g butter

Firstly, pre-heat your oven to 180c or gas 4. Our oven has settings for certain foods, but I’ve found that the fan assisted setting works wonders.

My method is to pre-heat at 200c on fan assisted, maybe five minutes before you’re finished with the prep, that way the oven doesn’t overheat and you’re not using too much electricity. Then I turn it back down to 180c and place the dish in.You don’t have to do this, and could just follow the above instructions. 

The Method:

Get a large bowl and place the flour and sugar together, mix well, and gradually start adding the butter and mix until the mixture resembles bread crumbs.

Damn, that looks horrible. But when it looks like this lumpy mess, you're doing it right!
Damn, that looks horrible. But when it looks like this lumpy mess, you’re doing it right!

Next you want to place the fruit into a separate bowl, add the flour and sugar, and gently mix. Make sure you don’t squish the fruit!

Here's the apple pieces with the sugar and flour.
Here’s the apple pieces with the sugar and flour.

What you should do is grease proof the dish you’ll use with butter, but I tend to not, which is why I always end up crying over the sink as I try to clean up my mess.

After you’ve grease proofed the dish, place the fruit mixture inside. Then add the crumble on top of this, gently smooth it all out so it’s all flat. Place it in the oven and wait for 40 – 45 minutes for it to bake.

What I do is set a timer on for 30 minutes, check it’s not burning or anything, and then wait a further 15 minutes, just to be precautions!

It should look something like this!

 

 

Save

